A First Book of Fairy Tales and Myths

When you purchase through links on my site, I may earn an affiliate commission.
Here’s how it works.

Book Review Affiliate Post

A First Book of Fairy Tales and Myths is a two book set including a fun collection of classic fairy tales and myths. Continue a family tradition and reread the classics with your children too!

A First Book of Fairy Tales and Myths - DK Canada - Reviewed by Oombawka Design

Title: A First Book of Fairy Tales and Myths
Published By: Dorling Kindersley Limited, 2018
ISBN: 978-1-4654-6585-6
Stories Retold by:
Mary Hoffman

A First Book of Fairy Tales and Myths

A First Book of Fairy Tales and Myths is a two-book set that includes a number of popular fairy tales and myths. Some of the stories I remember from my childhood and others, like Diamonds and Toads, are new to me too.

Reading these stories with my children, brings back memories of me listening to the stories when my Mom and my Nana used to read them to me as a child.

It seems like a family tradition which should be carried on with my own children. Fairy Tales and Myths tend to teach important lessons in a way which is memorable to young children.

Each Fairy Tale is only a few pages in length and includes endearing illustrations to add charm to each tale.

The Fairy Tales included in A First Book of Fairy Tales are:

  • Cinderella
  • The Selfish Giant
  • Rapunzel
  • Jack and the Beanstalk
  • Sleeping Beauty
  • The Little Mermaid
  • The Frog Prince
  • Beauty and the Beast
  • Diamonds and Toads
  • The Twelve Dancing Princesses
  • The Fisherman and his Wife
  • The Princess and the Pea
  • Rumpelstiltskin
  • The Snow Queen

The Myths and Legends included in A First Book of Myths are from all around the world. Each story is only a few pages in length and includes lovely illustrations.

The Myths included in the second book of the set, A First Book of Myths are:

  • The Fall of Icarus
  • The Golden Touch
  • Andromeda
  • Wolf Babies
  • Coyote Dances with a Star
  • The First Corn
  • A Newborn Warrior
  • How the Animals Got Their Shapes
  • How Butterflies Began
  • Balder the Beautiful
  • Rama and Sita
  • The Enchanted Island
  • The Kingdom Under the Sea
  • The Crocodile and the Baby
  • Ten Suns in the Sky
  • Why Dogs Hate Cats
  • The Dragon of Krakow

This 2-book set is a great introduction to Fairy Tales and Myths.  These quick-to-read fairy tales and myths make great bed-time stories. With engaging illustrations and entertaining stories, you will enjoy reading them with your family.

You can purchase your own copy of  directly from Amazon.

Purchase from amazon.com

Purchase from amazon.ca

All images are used with permission from DK Canada Books. For more information about DK Canada Books – visit their WebsiteFacebook or Twitter!


Never miss a stitch with Oombawka Design Crochet! Subscribe for exclusive patterns, gift ideas, and tutorials delivered straight to your inbox. Follow me on Facebook, Pinterest, and Instagram for the latest updates!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

One Comment

  1. This brings back memories of me reading to my youngest son. 30 years later and he still has the book. We have such fond memories of reading nap & bedtime stories. If only I had small ones again this book would be great to read to them.